top of page
Search
jiwk10

Final Reflection

Transformative Learning


One thing that I learned throughout this course was about how Disney portrays gender roles. In the past, I had thought that Disney was working towards paving new ways for women to become more equalized in society. Watching films such as Moana and Frozen made me see the changes in women roles in the Disney universe. However, as I was doing my research for my essay and watching more Disney films, I came to the realization that Disney is only adhering to societal standards and what would be well accepted by the public. Since society is moving towards gender equality, Disney also portrays those ideas by removing the fantasies about a prince charming.


Another thing I learned in this class was annotating various sources effectively. This also focuses on the course objective of applying reading skills to various kinds of text. Through the close reading practices I was able to go throw specific steps in the annotation process. Before going through the steps of asking questions about the title, finding excerpts on specific topics, and writing a conclusion on the process I thought that my annotations were very disorganized. However, now I am able to effectively annotate text. Another source I annotated was videos such as the disney films and the lecture by Jean Killbourne. By finding time stamps for the female character, male character, and supporting character I was able to stay organized while annotating the film.



Taking Stock

Some problems I had during this course was time management. I had a lot of work heavy classes this quarter so It was difficult handling all of the work in this class. Since there were things due throughout the week I tried my best not to procrastinate and finish my assignments on time. The assignments alsoe required very thorough annotations and peer reviews which I had underestimated how much time it would take me because I wanted to make each assignment well written. In the future, I will work towards planning my time accordingly.


Another problem I had was constructing the wix site for my portfolio. This also focused on the course objective of improving my digital literacy. It was my first time making a website, so it was difficult trying to find all of the features of the site. For example, in my podcast page, one of the sections had too much white space. However, when I tried to cut it so that everything would be in equal proportions the website wouldn’t let me do that. Then, I searched up how to do this, but I wasn't able to find any solutions online. Therefore, I had to recreate my podcast page so that every section would fit. In the future, I will try to figure out the specific specs of the wix editor.




21 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Vy Gia Luu
Vy Gia Luu
Mar 15, 2021

Hey Jenny,

I also have a similar problem as you when it comes to time management and always wanting to give my best for the assignments. In the beginning, I didn't know how to use Wix either, but after a while, I got used to it. It's interesting to see that I'm not the only one. When it comes to how progressive Disney is, I also thought that Disney is changing their gender values based on what they believe. It's sad to see that the only reason they are doing so is to reap more profit by conforming to societal's change. I wish you the best of luck in your future classes!

Like

tianaig
Mar 15, 2021

Hi Jenny

I also have the same time management issue. I always underestimated the time for exploratory writing, peer review and writing blogs. They needed more thinking work than I thought.

Thank you for your effort on our podcast's script! Your organization of the script segments are excellent. And I apologize I didn't decide the recording method early and changed it later and you couldn't participate in the Zoom meeting for recording.

Good luck with your finals!

-Tianai

Like

zebangx1
Mar 14, 2021

Hi, Jenny! First I want to say that I was really happy about working with you guys and the process of creating the podcast is so meaningful and helpful for our abilities of reading, writing, and communicating with each other. I feel the same that annotating various sources effectively connects with the course objective of applying reading skills to various kinds of text. It is time to say goodbye and may we all go well. ^ ^

Like

Jialin Mei
Jialin Mei
Mar 13, 2021

Hi, Jenny! Same as you, time management and making webpage through Wix are two issues or challenges that I encounter throughout the quarter for this course. To be honest, these two issues are sometimes closely related or even overlapped. This is because making a webpage for the first time requires me to spend so much time on finding set-up settings, creating and then fixing again and again which means that I would spend much time on both managing layout of webpage and text of the webpage. However, starting making webpage first time is the basis of being good at making it. Hope we will become good at creating webpage in the nearer future!

Like
bottom of page